

Board of Governors

Minutes of the one-hundredth-and-one meeting of the Board of Governors, held on Friday 21 October 2016 at 9am in the Chancellor's Hall, Wulfruna Building, City Campus Wulfruna.

Present:

Dr Simon Walford, Chair & Independent Governor
Ms Kathy Gee, Deputy Chair & Independent Governor
Professor Geoff Layer, Vice-Chancellor
Mr Jas Bains, Independent Governor
Ms Kim Carr, Independent Governor
Professor Martin Chambers, Independent Governor
Mr David Bourne, Non-Teaching Staff Representative Governor
Ms Gaby Steinke, Academic Board Nominee Governor
Dr Alex Hopkins, Academic Board Nominee Governor
Miss Nicole Berroa, Student Governor
Mr Ben Reid, Independent Governor
Mr Anthony Collins, Independent Governor
Mr Mike Priddy, Independent Governor
Ms Danella Bagnall, Independent Governor
Ms Clare Marchant, Independent Governor

In attendance:

Mrs Clare McCauley, Interim University Secretary
Dr Anthea Gregory, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic
Mr Andy Holding, Finance Director
Professor Ian Oakes, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and External Engagement
Mrs Jackie Dunne, Deputy Vice Chancellor Access to Life-long Learning
Ms Natalia Hill, Clerk to the Board

Apologies:

Mr Geoff Thompson, Independent Governor
Professor Gill Nicholls, Nominated Member
Mr Ninder Johal, Independent Governor
Dr Aidan Byrne, Teaching Staff Representative Governor
Miss Habiba Amjad, Student Governor and Students' Union President

1607 Welcome, Apologies and Declaration of Interests

Apologies had been received from Professor Gill Nicholls, Mr Geoff Thompson, Mr Aidan Byrne and Mr Ninder Johal.

There were no interests to declare.



1608 Minutes of the Previous Meetings and Matters Arising

(a) Minutes

The minutes of the one-hundredth meeting, held on 6 July 2016 were agreed as a true record.

(b) <u>Matters Arising</u>

There were no matters arising.

1609 Membership

- (a) It was resolved that Dr Alex Hopkins be appointed to the Board of Governors as Academic Board Nominee Governor for a two year term of office from 21 October 2016 until 31 August 2018;
- (b) It was resolved that Ms Danella Bagnall be appointed to the Board of Governors as an Independent Governor for a three year term of office from 21 October 2016 until 31 October 2019;
- (c) It was resolved that Ms Clare Marchant be appointed to the Board of Governors as an Independent Governor for a three year term of office from 21 October 2016 until 31 October 2019;
- (d) It was resolved that Ms Sarah Middleton be appointed as a Nominated Member for Audit Committee for a three year term of office from 21 October 2016 until 31 October 2019.

The Chair informed the Board that Ms Mandy Thorn was unable to take up her appointment to the Board at this time.

1610 Academic Committee

The Board were informed of the newly introduced requirement to sign off an assurance on 1 December each year. A small working group drawn from the Board of Governors and University staff had met twice over the summer period to discuss this and how the Board of Governors could confidently sign the statement. It was proposed that a sub-committee of the Board be established to meet three times per year to cover Student Experience, Learning Resources, Employability and Academic Quality. Members of the Committee would then be better equipped to advise the Board of Governors when the annual assurance is due.

The Committee would keep under review preparations for the Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) and Research Excellence Framework (REF).



It was queried whether the membership should contain a member of academic staff. After discussion it was agreed that the Committee's remit was to review data rather than make academic decisions and therefore the proposed membership was adequate.

It was resolved that the Academic Committee be established as a sub-committee of the Board of Governors.

It was resolved that the Terms of Reference of the Academic Committee be approved.

It was resolved that the membership of the Committee would contain three independent Governors (or nominated members of the Board), the Vice-Chancellor and the President of the Students' Union.

1611 Any Other Business

There was no other business

Meeting closed: 9:25am

Next meeting: Wednesday 23 November 2016, 5pm