

## **Board of Governors**

Minutes of the ninety-fifth meeting of the Board of Governors, held on Friday 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2015 at 9am in the Great Oak Room, Telford Innovation Campus

### **Present:**

Dr Simon Walford, Chair & Independent Governor Ms Kathy Gee, Deputy Chair & Independent Governor Professor Geoff Layer, Vice-Chancellor Mr Jas Bains, Independent Governor Ms Kim Carr, Independent Governor Professor Martin Chambers, Independent Governor Ms Paula Clark, Independent Governor

Mr Mike Priddy, Independent Governor

Mr Ben Reid, Independent Governor

Mr Geoff Thompson, Independent Governor

Mr David Bourne, Non-Teaching Staff Representative Governor

Mr Yashiru Aboubakar, Co-opted Governor (Student)

Gaby Steinke, Academic Board Nominee Governor

### In attendance:

Dr Emma Wedge, University Secretary
Ms Jackie Dunne, Deputy Vice Chancellor Access and Lifelong Learning
Mr Andy Holding, Finance Director
Miss Gemma Towns, Head of Corporate Governance and Clerk to the Board

#### **Apologies:**

Mr Adam Khan, Co-opted Governor (Student)
Dr Aidan Byrne, Teaching Staff Representative Governor
Dr John Pymm, Academic Board Nominee Governor
Professor Gill Nicholls, Co-opted Governor
Mr Ninder Johal, Independent Governor

#### 1543 Welcome, Apologies and Declaration of Interests

The Chair welcomed Ms Steinke and Mr Collins to the meeting. Apologies had been received from Mr Adam Khan, Dr Aidan Byrne, Dr John Pymm, Professor Gill Nicholls and Mr Ninder Johal.

Ms Steinke was present at the meeting and had an interest in item 1546.

# 1544 Appointment of Mr Ninder Johal



It was resolved that Mr Johal be appointed to the Board of Governors as an Independent Governor for a three year term of office from 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2015 to 30<sup>th</sup> November 2018.

## 1545 Appointment of Mr Anthony Collins

It was resolved that Mr Collins be appointed to the Board of Governors as an Independent Governor for a three year term of office from 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2015 to 30<sup>th</sup> November 2018.

## 1546 Re-appointment of Gaby Steinke

It was resolved that Ms Gaby Steinke be re-appointed as the Academic Board Nominee Governor for a two year term of office from 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2015 to 31<sup>st</sup> August 2017.

## 1547 Any other business

The Chair advised Ms Burgher, Independent Governor, had tendered her resignation from the Board of Governors due to her work commitments. The resignation had been accepted. The Chair thanked Ms Burgher for her commitment to the governing body and the university over the years. He advised Nominations Committee would undertake recruitment activities to fill the vacancy.

Meeting closed 9:15am.

Next meeting: 25<sup>th</sup> November 2015, 5pm